Awards are nice, but the people make sportswriting fun

Balancing my full-time teaching job at Cedarville University with my freelance writing pursuits has its time management hurdles at times. But I am happy to make those jumps and help the Springfield News-Sun and Dayton Daily News give high school sports as much coverage as possible in print and online.

Kermit Rowe gave me the opportunity in 2009 to cover sports for the News-Sun when I moved to Cedarville to teach. I had just left a position as sports editor at The Roanoke Times in Virginia, so I enjoyed staying in the business just a little bit. And Kermit was great to work for.

Through personnel changes and other changes I have continued to write mostly for the News-Sun. Marc Pendleton, the prep editor for both papers plus the Journal-News in Hamilton and Middletown, and sports editor John Boyle have at times offered me more work than I can handle. But I say yes most of the time because I love covering high school sports. Meeting the coaches and players and athletic directors and telling their stories is fun.

When I got word yesterday about winning some awards in the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association I was surprised. Then I was thankful for those who give me the opportunity and for those who answer my questions. It was also rewarding because the three stories I won awards for were stories about three of my favorite athletes and coaches that I have gotten to know.

Thanks to Bianca Quisenberry and Tony Evans of Tecumseh High School and Jim Lightle of Southeastern. You helped make my job a little easier. To see the full list of award winners click here.

 

Leave a Comment

